A little story at Dubai airport

August 26, 2012 § 6 Comments

I traded New York City with sweets and a silver box in Dubai. Aug 2012.

Here is a little story to tell, before I start the long process of blogging my recent trip to Europe covering Munich, Salzburg and Barcelona.

4 years ago, when I moved out of the Unites States, it wasn’t the happiest moment of my life. I always try to hold on to something from the live I have in New York. So I put a 50 USD bill in my wallets and walk around Hong Kong with me. Even I know it won’t have much use in here, and I risk losing it. However It did make me happy whenever I open up my purse and see that 50 USD I earned in New York, it brought out lots of fond memory.

Of course, it traveled with me to Europe this time. When I was passing through Dubai airport on my way home. I saw “World’s first and finest chocolate made out of camel’s milk”, Being a chocoholic, I just got to try it. Price was listed in both Dirham (UAE’s currency) and US Dollars. I thought, well it’s time to let go of this 50 dollars bill.

There it goes, instead of paying in Euro, I paid the 12 USD worth of camel’s milk chocolate with that precious 50 dollars bill. It felt like “finally, I’m letting it go.” Life is good and brilliant outside the States. Let’s have fun without looking back into the past.

After that, I spent the rest of it in the duty free shop on some Arabic sweets and a tiny silver jewelry box, it nows sits beautifully on my bed side table. Let go of the past, and in with the pretty new thing. I think I did good on this one.

P.S. I almost missed my flight home because of this! Damn you DXB, I didn’t thought you were that huge, and took my a while to run across the airport to get to my gate… final calling. Phew.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to A little story at Dubai airport

  • Mike says:

    sound allmost like it was an emotional moment πŸ™‚ but if you have to use that dollar bill you might as well do it in Dubai πŸ™‚

    PS,… You didnt tell us how it taste !

  • Hey, a moment to savour! Glad you’re ready to look forward now.

  • Arjan Tupan says:

    Great story, Kath. Nice illustration of how it’s good to not keep living in the past, but use our experiences to live our lives now and in the future.

    Like Mike, I’m very curious to learn about how that chocolate tastes πŸ™‚

    • Katharine says:

      Thanks πŸ™‚ About the Camel milk chocolate. It’s actually not bad. I expected it to have very strong flavor from the camel, but no. It’s very subtle. but you do get that extra layer of flavor that you don’t get from cow’s milk. It’s a very interesting experience.

      How to say… it’s like you added coconuts milk into curry…. it makes the flavor more “smooth”, but not related to the texture. you should try if you ever pass by Dubai.

Write something here!

What’s this?

You are currently reading A little story at Dubai airport at When kath's travelling.

meta

