B&B experience in Geneva *New York*

July 16, 2012 § Leave a comment

I’d trade a generic hotel stay for a night in this homey B&B in a heart beat!

Unless you’re paying over 100 Euro per night, a hotel experience is very likely to be……let’s say not special. Even paying with that price, you might still have to stay with some boringly tired looking hotel room that screams “renovations”. How to stretch your money on the road? One of the things I do is to stay at Bed & Breakfast. (ok, I also do hostels and short term apartments rental, but that’s for another story)

The Bragdon House B&B in Geneva, NY. Sep 8, 2009.

I found this wonderful B&B for an overnight stay in the Finger Lake Region on my way from New York City to the Niagara Falls. It was an old house built for the mayor of the town of Geneva, NY in 1907. With over 100 years of history, this house was lovingly renovated into a very cozy guesthouse. This house was filled with antiques and old pictures, full of character and details. It was easy to tell that the owner put in lots of effort and care into this. A spacious living room was occupied by some big comfy couches, with books, movies and blankets around. Outside, there was a veranda looking over the peaceful Seneca Lake, perfect for breakfast on a sunny day.

The room I stayed at. I know, it’s so girly and it made me felt like a high school kid. The Bragdon House, Geneva, NY. Sep, 2009.

The dining room really looked like those turn-of-the-century-house I was visiting.  The Bragdon House, Geneva, NY. Sep, 2009.

I need some lemonade and pie to stay here for the afternoon. The Bragdon House, Geneva, NY. Sep, 2009.

It was a gigantic couch, and I found Millie, an adorable young kitten with very sharp claws. The Bragdon House, Geneva, NY. Sep, 2009.

Bubba, a dorky pug.

What’s even cuter was the host’s two kitties and a pug. In fact, when I first got off my ride, no one was home, but the black cat came out and showed me the way in (it was actually quite weird). I had so much fun playing, and getting scratched, with them.

I felt like I was welcomed into the home of a lovely grandma. I know it’s probably your average grandma’s home. But growing up in Asia, this was really a special experience for me. It was a very clean place that’s within my budget, plus, the host prepared huge delicious breakfast. What more could I ask for? It was a nice stay that I’ll never forget, really added something special into this trip.

Signing the guestbook before I left.
The Bragdon House, Geneva, NY. Sep, 2009.

Tagged: , , , , ,

Write something here!

What’s this?

You are currently reading B&B experience in Geneva *New York* at When kath's travelling.

meta

