Yvoire: I could see Switzerland from France

March 31, 2012 § 4 Comments

The weather was amazing when I was at the beautiful village of Yvoire, France. June 14, 2010.

If you visit France for the first or second time, you’d most likely visit Paris, Lyon, Nice, Loire Valley… all those top tourist destinations or cities with a major transportation hub where you could hop on to another train. However I believe the beauty of France is to be found in smaller towns. Located on the southern shore of Lake Geneva is a town called Yvoire. It’s one of those places that are often over looked by visitors, as it lacks any castle or cathedral that is UNESCO worthy. However, it was definitely one of the best detour I’ve ever made.

Yvoire isn’t a huge place, and there aren’t any landmark architecture to see. You basically just go in there, wander around and admire the pretty streets with the old stone houses. It was exactly the kind of “beautiful French village” I have in mind. In the summer, the town is decorated with lots of flowers. I read that it’s a special thing that the town do to attract tourism. There were also lots of stores selling art and crafts. I cold spend hours in exploring all those little shops. Then I found a place to sit down by the water, and it was the perfect spot to have my picnic lunch.

Everywhere I looked, it's lovely stone houses. Yvoire, France. June 14, 2010.

Typical view in Yvoire, France. June 14, 2010.

A cute clothing boutique with flowers hanging on the outside. Yvoire, France. June 14, 2010.

Bell tower of a church. The original onion roof was tin plate, however sue to erosion, it was replaced with stainless steel decades ago. Yvoire, France. June 14, 2010.

Several years back during a mid-summer night, I stood on a balcony on the other side of the Lake Geneva in Switzerland, looking at the faint light coming from towns on the French side. I was very curious about those small towns, imagining how they looked like……

Now I know.

Looking at Switzerland while having my lunch in Yvoire, France. June 14, 2010.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Yvoire: I could see Switzerland from France

Write something here!

What’s this?

You are currently reading Yvoire: I could see Switzerland from France at When kath's travelling.

meta

