Naschmarkt… it was alright.

January 12, 2012 § Leave a comment

Little angel found among the apples at the Naschmarkt, Vienna. Dec 13, 2011.

I was going to stay at a place near by the Naschmarkt, fortunately they were out of twin rooms. So I had to stay at a hostel in another neighborhood, which turned out to be the best hostel stay I ever had. Therefore, one morning I had to make a trip down to this outdoor market to see what fresh produce they are selling!

This place wasn’t huge, but should be enough to keep you busy for an hour. At first I saw lots of stalls selling olives and feta cheese, then I saw hummus, spices, fruits, vegetables, bread, nuts, flower, raw meat, cooked meat, seafood…… There’s really a lot to look at, and they even have some restaurants there. However, were there anything special about this market besides it being outdoor?

Fruits at the Naschmarkt, Vienna. Dec 13, 2011.

A wall of spices packed in plastic bags at Naschmarkt, Vienna. Dec 13, 2011.

Hummus at the Naschmarkt, my mom thought these were ice-cream.Vienna. Dec 13, 2011.

Fried (?) pig's leg at Naschmarkt. First time saw it being prepared this way. Vienna. Dec 13, 2011.

It smelt so lovely when I walked pass these at the Naschmarkt, Vienna. Dec 13, 2011.

Hmm, honestly I didn’t see them selling vegetables that looked fresher than some of the farmer’s markets I’ve been to, nor interesting fruits that I couldn’t name. Those spices looks more Middle Eastern than European to me, and I found kebob all over the place instead of Austrian food. Things weren’t particularly cheaper here. Don’t get me wrong, I did enjoy wandering around markets, and it was a nice way to spend sometime before heading to our next stop…just that I didn’t find anything that really stood out at Naschmarkt. I hope it gets more exciting during the Summer.

A happy, lazy piggy found inside a store selling meat at the Naschmarkt, Vienna. Dec 13, 2011.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Write something here!

What’s this?

You are currently reading Naschmarkt… it was alright. at When kath's travelling.

meta

