A preview of my 5 weeks trip in Europe (May 2010)

April 28, 2010 § Leave a comment

the path

Here is a preview of my 5 weeks trip in Europe in May, covering Italy, France and little bit of Switzerland and Holland. It’s gonna be fun for sure.

The Netherlands:
Leiden > Lisse
I’m having a 12 hours transit at Schiphol Airport in The Netherlands, which is perfect for a day trip to Leiden and the Keukenhof to see fields after fields of blooming tulips. Hopefully, it will be sunny, or I’ll opt for a trip to Amsterdam instead. As I was in Amsterdam during winter last time, it would be nice to see the difference.

Italy:
Rome > Naples > Pompei > Florence > Pisa > Cinque Terre > Bologna > Venice > Milan
Two weeks in Italy, I’ll cover tons of cathedrals, museums and historical landmarks. Apart from that, I’m particularly excited to hike up to the crater of Mt Vesuvius, hiking through the five beautiful sea side villages of Cinque Terre. I’ll skip the gondola ride, but I’m sure getting lost in Venice would be lovely.

Switzerland:
Basel > Luzern
Instead of getting to Paris through a 13 hours overnight train, we decided to stop over in Basel-Switzerland. A day trip to Luzern to see this old town, I’m sure it’ll be as pretty as I remember.

France (Central):
Chartres > Chenonceau > Amboise > Blois > Mont St Michel > Dinan > St Malo > Cancale > Giverny
For one week, I’ll be driving around central France. Visiting magnificent chateaux in the Loire Valley, and then try out the amazing seafood along the coast of Brittany. I’ve always wanting to see the Mont St Michel. It simply looks like it came straight out from some cartoon. (oh and it reminds me of the Nintendo DS game: Professor Layton and the curious village) I’m going to see Monet’s garden for real, after seeing it so many times on the wall in New York’s MOMA.

France (Paris region):
Paris > Fontainbleau > Versailles
With a 4 days museum pass, I’ll pop in and out of tons of museums. Seeing my favorite Sainte Chapelle again would be lovely, and I’ll get the chance to visit Musee d’Orsay this time. a day trip to Fontainebleau, as well as Versailles when the fountains are on…and thank God we found a lovely place to stay in a very central location.

France (South-east):
Grenoble and nearby
After all these, I’ll spend a week in the south around Grenoble. Too bad it’s too early for the lavender, but I can’t wait to soak up all the sunshine around the Alps. maybe I can make day trip to Annecy, Lyon or that “Postman Cheval’s ideal palace” in Hauterives.

Tagged: , ,

Write something here!

What’s this?

You are currently reading A preview of my 5 weeks trip in Europe (May 2010) at When kath's travelling.

meta

