Christmas Markets in Prague

January 23, 2012 § 16 Comments

Christmas market at the Old Town Square lit up in Prague. Dec 16, 2011.

After seeing the Mucha Museum, we made our way back to the Old Town Square. This little walk actually became one of the reason for me to fall in love with this city. Prague was a very pretty town, full of old colourful little houses lining up the cobblestone streets; every corner you turn, it’s a different scene. However this city turned magical at night, especially around the time of Christmas when the streets were decorated with a warm glow of light.

Before I saw the tents, I could already hear the music. That night, they have some gypsy-ish music performance. Violin, drums with strong passionate rhythm, that’s exactly my cup of tea. Next to the stage, there was a huge blinking christmas tree. I do prefer christmas tree with candles, but this was actually quite nice and it fit in with the surrounding I think.

It didn’t take long for me to realize that the Christmas markets in Prague was a bit different, especially the food. Besides the usual suspect: sausages and hot wine, there were something else I didn’t see in Vienna. First, it was the Prague Ham which was fully cooked and smoked. It was sold by the weight, but they tended to slice more off than what you asked for. Then the mysterious Trdelnik caught my attention…

Trdnik being heated up at the Old Town Square in Prague. Dec 16, 2011.

There were lots of stand selling Trdelnik, I believe it must be very popular among the local. All the bakers(?) started from scratch by rolling out a dough and turn them into a long strip. Then they wrapped the strip around a wooden scroll, which will be then placed over the heat. When they were done, they would be dipped into cinnamon sugar for a final touch before handing it over to customers. It tasted a bit like donuts, but not as sugary.

For 35czk, a cup of warm honey wine was just perfect. You can find them in every market. Wenceslar Square, Prague. Dec 16, 2011.

Sorry, I had no food for you! Old Town Square, Prague. Dec 16, 2011.

There were also a little barn for the kids with sheep and a horse… Wait, was that a horse? actually I couldn’t really tell. However, it was very cute and very eager to play with the passer-by.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 16 Responses to Christmas Markets in Prague

  • Looks awesome! That Trdelnik sounds yummy. Now if I can just convince my husband to travel to Europe in the winter.

    • Katharine says:

      I know Europe is gorgeous in summer, but a trip around Christmas time is really worth it! I can vouch for that :) Also, everything seems to be a tad less expensive (hotel, flight…), and less tourists too! More reason to go in winter. By the way, the cold wasn’t unbearable when I was there :)

  • Wibi Udayana says:

    Ahhhh~ I always heard of this event. Looks so nice. Wish I could go to prague :( Is it expensive there?

    • Katharine says:

      Prague is actually considered to be a less expensive European destination. My trip in December took me to Austria, Czech Republic, Germany and Copenhagen. I found that food costs a lot less in Prague comparatively, and yet very delicious! Also the streets in Prague are so pretty, and it gives off a fairytale vibe :) stay tuned for more pictures and post about the beauty of this city! If you do get a chance, please don’t hesitate to go!

  • Casey says:

    Hi Katharine!

    Thank you so much for visiting and subscribing to my blog.

    Your blog and travels are beautiful – I love Prague so much. It is my second favorite European city, Paris being my first.

    Thank you for sharing all of your photos and experiences.

    • Katharine says:

      Hi Casey, it’s wonderful to read your blog too. lots of nicely chosen inspiration.

      Haha I LOVE Paris too (who doesn’t?) and hope to keep going back!
      please do come back to check out new travel post :)

  • One of my (our) very favorite cities, not least of all because it’s where we started our honeymoon. :)

    Loved the Mucha museum! So many museums are so huge and overwhelming, and this one, both by being pretty focused on the one artist and by its intimate setting, is ‘manageable’ and very cozy as well as full of art that I/we really enjoy. My husband and I have been back only once to Prague, so we didn’t get to revisit the museum, but would love to visit the city *many* more times if we get the chance!

    The wonderful foods, music and antique ambiance are definitely all part of the city’s allure, as is the fact that so much of its architecture remains in its beautiful period styles. Seeing an adorable and sociable pony right in town wouldn’t hurt either! :)

    • Katharine says:

      Hi Kathryn , Museum of Mucha is the perfect example of small is nice, and it’s the quality that matters, not quantity ;) Oh my lord, the food, actually we act a lot of cake that, which wasn’t expected. My mother didn’t know much about European history and how each era’s style is different from each other. However approximately 1 hour since we arrived in Prague (from Vienna), my mother was like “wooo I love this place! so pretty!” ;)

  • Prague looks breathtaking, I’ll have to add it to my list of places to visit next! :)

    • Katharine says:

      Prague will definitely take you by surprise, if you’re not expecting it to be so beautiful. If there’s an opportunity to visit, you must not miss it! and please come back for more pictures and blogs on this beautiful city. I still have a few things to post on Prague :) cheers

  • sophieark says:

    Love love love this ! Christmas markets :) love your photos here !

  • Fiona.q says:

    what’s the camera you use to shoot the first pic, the night view?

  • lilyjones says:

    nice post.

    Europa Coaches Prague is specialized in hiring different kinds of transportation vehicle all around Europe. Our fleet of buses, minibuses, limos, etc. is available in many different colours and styles, and all are high quality, climatized and comfortable vehicles. We have also been hiring party and limo buses since 2010 and now we have access to the largest fleet of party buses and limos in Europe. Having the head office in Slovenia (EU), permits us having affordable prices, but yet an excellent service quality.

Write something here!

What’s this?

You are currently reading Christmas Markets in Prague at When kath's travelling.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers

